A digital storyboard

It’s been a while since we actually posted anything about the manga progress. Now that summer’s here (not that you’d know it by the weather down east), we hope we’ll begin getting some pages produced. Meanwhile, I thought it would be amusing to post the digital storyboard that Connie was working from to produce this panel on page two.

I began by writing a script based on “The Storyteller” and breaking that into pages. Then, in a notebook, I drew the first draft storyboards in pencil, usually with only four panels per page. From that, I go to Photoshop and draw the second draft. I find that at this point I end up expanding the pages, getting two out of one sometimes or finding a panel that I think would look good as a full page. I end up revising the text a little as I type it, too. This becomes the final text.

KV's storyboard - page two

Connie then works her magic (with much sweat, talent, and toil), doing a sequence of sketch, ink, and toning. She breaks up my panels into several to suit the demands of the action and spreads out the pages, one into two or three, as seems necessary. Luckily we don’t have a set page length — lots of freedom there. She’s discussed her inking process earlier, but she works with both paper and computer. After she’s done, the pages will come back to me for final refinements of text.

I have about half the storyboards finished. One project for me this summer, as Connie begins to produce the final pages, is to get the second batch done. We’re thinking of including an appendix, too, a sort of “guide to gods, demons, devils, and Great Gods”. So, The Storyteller: Sword of Ice and Shadows, progresses. We’re still aiming for late 2012 for completion.

About K.V. Johansen

The author of Blackdog, The Leopard, The Lady, and Gods of Nabban, epic fantasies from Pyr, I also write for teens and children, including the "Torrie", "Warlocks of Talverdin", and "Cassandra Virus" series, and the "Pippin and Mabel" picture books, as well as a couple of short story collections and two works of adult literary criticism on the history of children's fantasy literature. I have a Master's degree in Mediaeval Studies, and read a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and history. Blog at thewildforest.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in art, making a manga, technical stuff, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

